pont des arts

If I’m honest I have to tell you I still read fairy-tales and I like them best of all.

-Audrey Hepburn

♠  ♠  ♠

A part of me would still like to believe in magic. I can blame it on reading too many fairy-tales as a child, or the fact that my father raised my solely on Disney Princess movies, but it is impossible to evade the fact. And that is why the moment I heard about the tradition of attaching ‘love padlocks’ to the Pont des Arts to achieve everlasting love, I knew I had to do it.

Unfortunately, things to do not always work out as planned. One thing lead to another, and before I knew it my last night in Paris had arrived and we still had not reached the elusive ‘padlock bridge.’

Because my French was limited, and at that point in time I had no idea that the ‘love padlock’ bridge was actually called Pont des Arts– it ended in a wild goose chase with my brother and I checking each and every bridge on La Seine for the locks that were attached with so much expectation. It wasn’t until well after midnight that we finally found it, but it was well worth it. We each attached a padlock to the bridge– I wrote the name of my boyfriend and my brother wrote the name of the girl who would become his girlfriend (months later!) and we have been happily in love ever since…

I have had a fascination with keys since I was a little girl, for which I believe my love for ‘The Secret Garden’ is largely to blame. Last year, my boyfriend gave me a beautiful key necklace for our anniversary last year that I wear every day without fail. In Paris, I decided to attach the key responsible for locking my enchanted padlock to it. Et voilà, I have no chance of misplacing it…

Do any of you believe in similar superstitions? Do tell! I know they also have similar bridges in Rome and Greece, and I just find the whole practice so incredibly romantic…

 

10 thoughts on “pont des arts

  1. Dear Katheryn, though I never received any padlocks yet! But I do think the” love padlock ” as a gift is very romantic! N wish you n your bf will the like the locks and keys always stick together , otherwise won’t work! Either one is missing is not good anymore!

    XoXo,
    Your blog fan,
    Judy

    1. Judy, I am your biggest fan as well! I am glad we have found eachother :) We should find a love padlock bridge in San Diego we can go to sometime, or we should start our own tradition- you, me, and CC!

      XX
      Your biggest fan,
      Kathryn

I love reading all of your comments- they make my day! If you include your blog name and address, I would be happy to check out your blog :) I try and comment back on every post... XoXo Kathryn

